Home > Internship Reports > Problems & Problem Resolving

Problems & Problem Resolving

Six weeks passed in the twinkling of an eye. Now I have done the half of my internship. My project is on the developing progress. Everything in my internship seems fine, but, of course, there are still problems.

These problems came from different sides including pressure of doing large amount of weekly assessment and thousands of words report while doing internship and technical difficulties encountered during the project development. However, comparing to my friends who is doing help desk job in his internship, I am luckier, because I need not to deal with customers.

Even though, my problems still make me headache. First of all, I need to do two online courses while I am doing the internship. Both of them require a lot of analysing and writing work each week. For example, each week I am required to participate in the online forum which needs to answer several questions and participate in the discussion, and update minimum 300 words career episode report on the Blog. By the end of this term, I also have to submit totally 8,000 words reports including ethic analysis, risk management, and summing-up report of my internship, meanwhile, I am expected to complete the Wesley Mission intranet Cascading Style Sheet refresh project during my internship period. It causes high pressure and time seems to be in sufficient. To resolve this problem, time management is necessary. I need to adopt several time management strategies to deal with this. These strategies I have already posted in this Blog. By following them, these weighty assignments can be ensured to be finished on time.

The other problem regards to the project development. As I mentioned in the report posted in 17th December 2009, my project is to Change the layout form orange colour scheme to blue colour scheme at the Cascading Style Sheet (CSS) level according to the mock-up design. Due to my knowledge and skills, as well as relative working experience in such field, this job is not difficult. But I still encountered technical problem during the development which is my way of coding the new CSS cannot meet the design requirement. To solve it, the first approach I took is researching Internet and trying to get some technical resolutions from online tutorials. I also asked my supervisor Steve for help and he gave me some useful suggestions for solution.

There is also a little problem of communication with my mentor Rowen. Because he works at Wollongong, there is rarely a change for us to meet together. However, we can contact with each other by email or telephone, or we can arrange an appointment to meet if he has time.

Categories: Internship Reports
  1. Cheryl
    February 2, 2010 at 7:26 AM

    Hello Robin
    Well done in balancing competing priorities on your time while studying and working. This will be a good example you can use when addressing selection criteria or answering interviw questions in the future.
    Kind regards
    Cheryl

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment